Jacq's

the earth under my feet

Rome

leave a comment »

I LOVE ROME. Rome is one of the most beautiful city I’ve been to. It’s romantic and absolutely pretty. Everywhere is so scenic and the italians are just so spontaneous. I love it from the Colosseum to the Vatican City to Fontana di Trevi to Piazza Navona to Piazza del Popolo to the Pantheon to the beautiful river and bridges and to Fassi (the famous yummy huge gelato shop).

Vatican city is beautiful but what you have to do when you are there is to climb up to the Cupola. Yes you have to pay 5euros to do so but it’s worth it. Don’t be a chicken mcnugget and take the elevator (unless of course you are with a kid of elderly or suffer from injury). CLIMB UP. The experience is epic and the view is worth it. 🙂

The skies are beautiful on the days when I was in Rome. Although it was really warm, I didn’t complain as much while I was in Rome. Okay maybe because I didn’t get any mosquito bites (until in Venice where i’ve got TONS).

The Colosseum where the entertainment in the past is at. They get free food and free entertainment and are seated according to their class. Basically it was to occupy their time so that they don’t have time to create trouble. The woman and the lower classes sit on top. :/ It’s amazing though, where they get warriors to fight lions. If I’m not wrong, the lions are kept underneath the stage for a really long time. So they are accustomed to darkness and when they are suddenly elevated up to the bright sun, they are sort of blind, which allow the warriors to tackle them. Smart uh?

As you can tell from the photos, it was really warm while I was there. The colosseum was a 5 mins walk from where I stay. Basically once again It’s really walkable. But I did like to commend the place I stay at. The staff was really friendly. It was a guesthouse but the room was really clean, spacious and pretty. The toilets were clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff took trouble to walk us through the city’s map showing us places that we have to go and recommended us as to where we should have our meals. Like where do the locals go and where to do the tourists go. I love their service, extremely homely. In fact, the staff on duty drove over to get us from the Metro. Perfecto! Oh yes, I stayed in Guest House Sleeping beauty. There’s a chain, there is snow white too if i’m not wrong. Snow white is near Fassi (the Gelato place) while Sleeping Beauty is near the Colosseum. 🙂 But they are fairly near to each other.


If you were wondering, yes I did toss in a coin to the Trevi fountain and made my wish. 🙂 But what the wish is, is for me to know and for you to never find out. 😀 The place is magnificent, apart from the large influx of tourist. I sat there for awhile watching people toss their coin and have their photos taken. Besides the weather was so warm it was nice to sit there for awhile and enjoy as the day go by. 🙂

I probably mentioned Fassi a few times by now.

http://www.palazzodelfreddo.it/

Widest variety of gelato. I usually order Nicciolata when I’m at other gelato outlets. Chocolate and Hazenut how wrong can it be right? I tried a few favourites here and I love ALL OF THEM. 🙂 Missing them so much now that I think I’m going to walk down to Gelato Mio to get myself a scoop later.

After Rome I headed to Salerno and took a bus to Amalfi Coast. Beautiful scenery. Look out for the next post. 🙂

I’m finally done with my essay but it’s probably the worst essay I’ve ever written in my entire life. I have absolutely no idea what I was typing and it’s not even because I didn’t try hard enough but I really don’t get the point of the article I had to review. I’m worried about the originality report too because I don’t get to view them unlike in NUS where I get to see the originality report and make necessary changes. I am also only allowed 1 submission. So, being extremely nervous I went to check out the sample end of term test for this module and OH BOY, I BETTER START STUDYING FOR THE MODULE TODAY. It’s tough. 😦 Now I’m getting really worried. 😦

For something happier, I am going down to the O2 arena again later this evening to watch Nadal play Tsonga. Can’t wait. I ❤ Rafa. I’m absolutely missing Goldmine’s yummy roast duck at Bayswater too. Shall organise a meal with some of the other Singaporeans soon.

Written by Jacq

November 24, 2011 at 11:12 am

Leave a comment