Jacq's

the earth under my feet

British Beer and Cheese Event

with one comment

Taking a break from the traveling post, let me blog about yesterday 🙂 School on Friday usually involves 9am-5pm classes but there wasn’t neurobiology lab yesterday so I managed to meet up with fellow exchange students who are doing exchange in UCL Law School. 😀 Yesterday was the first time I’ve ever tried Greek Cuisine. Sounds exotic but I swear it was a calorie bomb. I was looking forward to a light lunch considering we are going to have lots of cheese and beer later in the evening but Mark suggested Greek and i decided, Why not!


Would love to name all of them for you but I really can’t remember their proper name (neither can I spell them! The three plates of mousse like stuff is 1. some yogurt but no, it doesn’t taste healthy at all, it’s creamy and cheesy, but I do have to admit I kinda like it 2. Hummus  3. Fish Pâté  no idea what fish though but I really like this one. These were served with warm slices of Naan. Yummy.
Then there was this pork dish with red wine there alot of spices that went with this particularly cinnamon. Mark really liked this but I found the taste a little too strong for me.

There above is a tasting platter of assorted meat and grilled cheese. There was kebab, sausage and an assortment of other meat. I love meat but I never really had a liking for patty sort of meat. A little too salty for my liking but after a few bites I found out that they go really really well with the yoghurt. Beside that is Moussaka, my very first try at that too. It taste a little like lasagna but instead of pasta it was potato in between layers of minced fatty beef and tomato puree. Sinful but it was good. Then you see greek salad. No, greek salad is not healthy but it would be better if you leave the feta cheese out of it BUT it’s feta cheese, how can you exclude it!

Well, so I obviously had a sinful lunch and let’s just not talk about what I had for breakfast. We met up with Gabriel for the Cheese and Beer event at Brewer’s Hall located at Moorgate which is in the district of City of London, located in the midst of all the big banks.

 
 
It was really interesting to check out all the different sort of beer. The most unique beer I had prior to this was Lychee beer in Taiwan but here I tried Chocolate beer (but I was stout and being a normal girl, I really hate it although it was chocolate), honey beer, stinger beer (this one is interesting it leaves a tingling sensation in your throat), cranberry beer, Vintage ale, Ale where there’s yeast in it hence it is still fermenting (this one was disgusting), ginger beer and a crazy loads of other beers. That being said I admit I had hell loads of beer last night, a good say at least 12 glasses but I lost cost after awhile. Well, if beer isn’t fattening enough there was CHEESE too.

Yes there was goat cheese, cheddar cheese, assortment of brie, full fat cheese (which Gabriel insist smells like a farm, the name of it wasn’t appealing for me so I refused to try that) but of all the cheese my favourite was definitely white stilton with Mango and

Ginger. It was THE BEST cheese I’ve ever had. It had a crumbly texture the taste was just nice, light and very refreshing. the Cranberry was really good too. I am now on the search for where I can get my hands on those White Stilton with Mango and ginger because I can’t find them in Marks & Spenser or Saintsbury. 😦

The three of us decided that taking the photo which was supposed to show life of exchange students has to be taken. This was a follow up of a facebook image that has been spreading whereby different senarios depicting EXAM PERIOD was shown across the 3 University as well as SIM then someone who’s currently doing an exchange added one more to the series which says EXCHANGE showing beer glasses. Okay, although we did take this photo for fun, EXCHANGE is not all about playing! We do have to study and I’m currently freaking out! 7 more essays to go and 3 end of term test! I really hope I pass all my mods. Or at least, I BETTER DO.

It was really amusing because Mark was really high after all the beer tasting and he started to talk nonsense. This smart asses are actually pretty fun people! Alright, then we decided to end our sinful day by going all out. Headed to Le Pain Quotidien for desserts. I L-O-V-E Le Pain Quotidien. If you are in Brussels or in London, please don’t deprieve yourself of such indulgence. I love the warm belgium waffle. It’s the best waffle I’ve ever had and a must order whenever I go to LPQ.

Le Pain Quotidien originated from Brussels, Belgium. Don’t belittle that plain looking waffle! I was so disappointed by the waffle I had in Brugge, Belgium because it was nothing like the one served in LPQ. I like how delicious, sweet but not too sweet and warm. The ones that I found in Brugge were all waffles with lots of sauces like chocolate or caramel, ice cream or cream. There wasn’t much quality to the waffle itself. LPQ’s was light and quality of the waffle is fantastic. Probably one of the dessert I’ll miss the most when I return to Singapore. They go easy with the icing sugar as well. We had Fruit crumble too with fresh cream as well. Yum Yum.

The three of us are going to explore Highgate cemetery on Monday. It’s going to be interesting! OH and I’m finally going to visit the winter market at South Bank, London Eye tomorrow! 😀

Alright, I’ll continue with my traveling adventures at Salerno in my next post. 🙂 There’s still so many cities I’ve visited that I’ve to share about, regret being so lazy at the beginning of all these. Not forgeting all the past experiences and foodie finds in London itself. Think Goldmine’s roast duck, Royal China’s Dim Sum, Po Luo Bun at Leiscester Square, Jamie’ Oliver”s Fifteen Restaurant, Camden market, Borough Market, Portobello market… Ahhh, this is making me hungry. Okay, that’s all for today folks!

Written by Jacq

November 26, 2011 at 10:36 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aw, this was a really nice post. In concept I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and on no account appear to get something done.

    subliminal messages

    November 29, 2011 at 9:43 pm


Leave a comment