Jacq's

the earth under my feet

Venice

leave a comment »

Bucket List: Visit Venice before it submerged thanks to the expansion of water bodies and global warming. CHECKED. (Out of point but do you know sea water rise mainly because water of the sea expand due to the heat rather than the melting of the ice cap?)

When you think of venice what do you think of? Fat pigeons at St. Marks Square? Canals? River Taxi? Gondola rides? You’ve got them all right. When you visit Venice, you HAVE to go into Basilica San Marco. It’s so magnificent. Well, When I was in Venice, it was FREAKING HOT. It was still summer in Italy then and BOY, THANK THE ITALIANS FOR YUMMY GELATOS!

Rialto is a nice area to chill and relax. Just sit at the cafe and watch all the tourist walk by. It’s where most of the restaurants are located at too. In fact, the food at venice is pretty awesome and if you know ur italian cuisine well enough, you HAVE to try their Fish Zuppe. Basically in Italy, Fish actually refers to seafood. If you patronise Pasta Fresca in Singapore for their awesome possum Seafood soup, you can get your fix in Venice. πŸ™‚ Some Singaporeans wouldn’t enjoy the authentic pasta in venice because it’s really rich and heavy. But I’m sure you will find a pizza that you’ll like because it’s awesome. By the way, the Italians eat a lot. Moving from France to Italy, the difference in eating habits is apparent. Also if you visit the restaurant at our regular lunch/dinner time, fret not! There wouldn’t be a long queue because their lunchtime is probably at 3 and dinner at around 8? It’s far more ridiculous in Spain but who really eats at proper timing these days right? I really miss the fish zuppe. 😦 Well, I’m not that deprieved from good Italian fare anyway because just a 3mins walk from where I stay in London is an authentic Italian Restaurant (which is from Naples) that serve one of the best Pizza ever. Like Duh, Pizza from Naples. If there’s one advice I have to give to fellow Singaporeans out there who are visiting Italy (or the western countries in general) DO NOT order aglio olio if you like your pasta nice and spicy. Here, Aglio Olio simply mean pasta tossed in Olive oil. No, you’re not going to get garlic and don’t even dream of chilli padi or chilli flakes, it’s not going to happen. But DO try their Carbonara and different renditions of seafood pasta. πŸ™‚ I still prefer the pizza, the pastas are in general too heavy for me. 😦 If anything, my Italian adventures have made me realised how much I love the food served at Pasta Fresca in Singapore. They have an outlet along Bukit Timah, Boat Quay, Cuppage and Changi Airport.


Pardon my lousy photos but trust me the Fish Zuppe is yummy. πŸ™‚ So yes, the entire Venice experience was good. I had mental image of Angelina Jolie and Johnny Depp filming The Tourist while I was there. I love Β Johnny Depp. πŸ˜€ Like what I mentioned about Paris, Venice is extremely walkable. In fact, it was Venice which made me realised that. We were finding our way to Rialto and before we know it we were already at Piazza San Marco which was where we wanted to check out next. The only problem was the weather. It was asdjksfgh hot while I was there. I absolutely CAN’T BELIEVE I don’t have a photo of the Gelato I had in venice. It was my first gelato in Italy and it was a-w-e-s-o-m-e. The 2nd best I had. Wait for my post on Rome, I had my best Gelato there. πŸ™‚

Oh ya, and if you don’t already know, you can drink straight from all the water fountains in Italy! πŸ™‚ Saving grace in the hot hot weather. I realised I had been going on and on about food. Food gets me excited. Do check out the Basilica San Marco, the queue is worth it. The architecture is magnificent and prepared to be wow-ed when you enter the place. Look out for the ceiling, it’s made of gold!

Well that’s it for my update on Venice. I skipped school today to complete my essay. I better finish it by today. Okay, what am I talking about, it’s due tomorrow morning. I HAVE to finish it. 😦 But I’m currently looking forward to lunch because I’ve decided to treat myself to something nice in the neighbourhood. I stay in North London in this really nice area called Muswell Hill. There’s lots of good restaurants around and Marks & Spencer is my favourite place to stock up on my snacks or get prepared meals. M&S prepared meals are really good. Judging on what 7 11 offers in Singapore, I’d never think that prepared food can be this yummy.

And I snipped off my fringe last night when I got bored with writing my essay. I used to have straight bangs in 2008 (JC 2 days) and now, hello bangs again! My boyfriend’s not going to be pleased. He hates if when I cut my hair short or my fringe short. But it will grow out by the time I see him again. πŸ˜€

Alright, shall end the post with MY FACE (In Venice) πŸ˜€ Okay, bye! πŸ˜€

Alright, shall end the post with MY FACE. πŸ˜€ Okay, bye! πŸ˜€

Written by Jacq

November 23, 2011 at 12:16 pm

Leave a comment